Kaleidoscope 

With my head resting against my chest, 

You resting on the table, 

I bend myself over you, 

To get the glimpse of your far end,

Multiple patterns of 

Varying sizes and shapes, 

Of cliffs and plateaus, 

With steep precipices, 

The place where a depressed soul

Detached itself from life. 


Lifting you up, 

Paralleling you with the ground, 

I see a new pattern forming 

Of myriad shapes and sizes, 

It’s a beautiful valley, 

With greenery and livelihood abounding, 

A place where happiness 

Seemed so prevalent, 

Reaching the levels of contagiousness. 
Now, I lift you again 

Above my head, 

And with gravity aiding, 

The shapes fall towards me, 

Like huge rocks, from mountains infused with anger, 

Tempting themselves with the 

Contentment to overthrow the world, 

And rippling human lives, 

Creating an evil disaster 
I change your angle to forty five degrees, 

And with that swirling motion, 

Something again forms, 

Lost travellers, thirsty and parched, 

Frantic for water to extend their life, 

And magically, a waterfall and spring appears forth, 

Nature is a great superhero. 
I keep flipping you about, 

Rotating you at my whim, 

And every time, I see something new, 

A valley, a rale, a spring, a dale, an ocean, a cliff, a animal, a bird, 

And if there’s no novelty in the view, 

There’s something new about the perspective, 

Something soothing, something different. 

Life would have been so much easier

If we saw each others view, if we

Believed in kaleidoscopes. 

Leave a Reply

